Playlist Challenge: Rainy Day Edition

This one is also fairly easy.  Five songs about rain. Go.

1. “Rain in the Summertime” – The Alarm.  An underrated song from the 80s.  I like the way this song builds.

2. “Sometimes (Lester Piggot)” – James.  An underrated song from the 90s.  Also, the only song I can think of about suicide by thunderstorm.

3. “Let it Rain” – The Dream Syndicate.  I’m not much of a Clapton fan (my failing, not Clapton’s), but I’ve always been fond of this song, mostly because of this rendition of the Derek and the Dominoes tune.  Johnette Napolitano (of Concrete Blonde) on background vocals.

4. “So. Central Rain” – REM.  Possibly my favorite REM song ever.

5. ‘”Hey Mr. Rain” – Velvet Underground.  I feel a little bit bad that none of my songs are from this decade. I’m sure people are still writing songs about rain. But I don’t feel bad about including this one, because I love this sound.

19 thoughts on “Playlist Challenge: Rainy Day Edition

  1. Great list! Especially love 1 & 3.

    1. Patty Griffin – Rain

    2. Carpenters – Rainy Days and Mondays

    3. Jackson Browne – Take This Rain

    4. Everything But The Girl – Missing

    5. Husker Du – Standing in the Rain

  2. Great list, Susan. I re-listened to Warehouse all the way through the other day and was amazed how well that album holds up.

  3. The Rain – The Swell Season
    Why Does It Always Rain On Me? – Travis
    Rain – Mika
    Rain – Red Flag (awesome song)
    Early Morning Rain – Paul Weller
    Crying In The Rain – a-ha

  4. Rain- the Cult
    Rain – Tones on Tail
    No Rain- Blind Mellon
    Fire and Rain- James Taylor
    Dry the Rain – the Beta Band

  5. CCR: Have you ever seen the rain

    Counting Crows: The Rain King

    Counting Crows: Raining in Baltimore

    Bruce Hornsby: Mandolin Rain

    Peter Gabriel: Red Rain

    Paramore: When it Rains

  6. I don’t know why it’s not letting me embed videos. It used to, but something’s not working right lately. I blame Ronan.

  7. Love Peter Gabriel’s Red Rain.

    Marillion: Sugar Mice in the Rain

    Guns N’ Roses: November Rain

    Arena: Tears in the Rain

    Queensryche: Another Rainy Night

    Angra: Rainy Nights

  8. 1. Only Happy When it Rains – Garbage
    2. Rain – Kris Kristofferson & Rita Coolidge
    3. Rain – Jose Feliciano
    4. I See the Rain – The Marmelade
    5. The Grey Robe of the Rain – The Stone Coyotes

  9. U2’s Exit from Joshua Tree. I know it’ll prove me an idiot but it was years before I realized it was a song about suicide and not a rain storm.

  10. MCQ: it works for me if I just paste the URL in.

    1. Garbage “Only Happy When it Rains” (doh, you just beat me to it, Last Lemming!)

    2. Led Zeppelin “The Rain Song” (one of my favorites)

    3. Suzanne Ciani “Rain” (can’t find an official video, but this is pretty good. My wife can play it, and it’s awesome.)

    4. Duran Duran “Hold Back the Rain”

    5. David Gates (of Bread) “Suite: Clouds, Rain” (I probably listened to this song a hundred times when I was a kid, on vinyl)

    Rain portion at around 4:18

    Bonus: Milli Vanilli (or whoever) “Blame it on the Rain”

    Susan M: didn’t you do an email list on rain songs?

  11. I think so. Sounds like something I’d do. I don’t know you by this screen name, what other moniker would I know you as?

  12. Clark, other songs from that same U2 album also talk about rain, including Running To Stand Still, Bullet the Blue Sky, One Tree Hill, With or Without You, Trip Through Your Wires, Where the Streets Have No Name.

    The album was partly about literal and figurative deserts, so rain and storms are definitely themes throughout the whole album.

  13. Can’t Stop the Rain – Washington Squares
    I Think It’s Gonna Rain Today – Dusty Springfield
    Pennies From Heaven – Bing Crosby
    Purple Rain – Prince
    It’s Raining Men – Weather Girls (Sorry, couldn’t resist)

  14. Good choices. Love “Sometimes” by James.

    I’d also include:

    1.) The Jayhawks “Save it for a Rainy Day”. Blissful harmonies. Must watch video staring a luminous Mary-Louise Parker:

    2.) Jesus and Mary Chain “Happy When it Rains”. From the great Darklands album, all of which makes for great rainy day music.

    3.) Or, you could go with Jesus and Mary Chain’s “9 Million Rainy Days”, another rainy day classic:

    4.) James Taylor “Rainy Day Man”. Great harmonies.

    5.) Neil Sedaka “Laughter in the Rain”. Love this 70s soft rock classic. Pure syrup, but how can you not love it when it comes on the radio on a rainy day in the Fall?

    6.) Sting “Shadows in the Rain” from the Dream of the Blue Turtles album.

  15. How about a few more??

    7.) Echo & the Bunnymen “Ocean Rain”. From their best album. I’ve been to a half-dozen Bunnymen concerts and they usually close with this song.

    8.) The Cure “Prayers for Rain”. From the great Disintegration album.

    9.) The The “Kingdom of Rain”. Matt Johnson’s beautiful-but-depressing duet with Sinead O’Connor about a couple breaking up. Great video!

    10.) Eurythmics “Here Comes the Rain Again”. One of their best songs, IMO. An 80s classic. And another great video.

    11.) Supertramp “It’s Raining Again”. Kinda cheesy, but always brings a smile to my face.

    12.) Creedence Clearwater Revival “Have You Ever Seen the Rain”. Not a big CCR fan, but I’ve always liked this song.

Comments are closed.