Playlist Challenge: Gone, But Not Forgotten Edition

The rules: name five songs that you love, but that you can’t recall hearing even once in the last three years.

This is trickier than it seems because it requires dusting out the neural pathways in your brain.  Here are my choices.

1. “A Whisper to a Scream (Birds Fly)” – Icicle Works.  This one-not-quite-hit-wonder sounds very much like the ’80s to me, yet it never attained the nostalgic favoritism that was shown to lesser songs by bands like Flock of Seagulls or Big Country.

2. “Stop Your Sobbing” –  The Kinks.  Certainly in the running for one of the greatest British Invasion bands, even if they never saw the success on this side of the pond that The Beatles, The Stones or the Who saw. From their early period, it seems like all you ever hear is “All Day and All of the Night” and “You Really Got Me,” but I really like this one.  Tough love in the form of a pop song.

3.  “Watch That Girl Destroy Me” – Possum Dixon.  I saw this band twice in the same year, once opening up for The Lemonheads and once for the Violent Femmes.  They were better than the former, and as good as the latter.  Lots of energy and just a whole lot of fun.

4. “Bearing Witness” – Dream So Real.  I had this song on Cassette-single. (Remember those?) About the only thing I knew about Dream So Real was that they were from Athens, Georgia, home of REM, the band I was most obsessed about at the time.

5. “Rise” – Public Image Limited.  Probably my favorite song from John Lydon(aka Rotten)’s post-punk outfit.

15 thoughts on “Playlist Challenge: Gone, But Not Forgotten Edition

  1. This is a really hard challenge. I have a huge playlist on my ipod of my all-time favorites, so it’s rare for there to be an old favorite I haven’t heard in a long time. Let’s see what I can come up with. Aaah, I’m seeing a lot of songs that I’ve heard recently that I hadn’t heard in at least 3 years, now all disqualified. =(

    1. “Fingertips” by They Might Be Giants. I never put it on my ipod because it’s like 30 different tracks and so I could only get a snippet intermixed. “What’s that blue thing doing there?” (note: this video doesn’t play them in the order they were originally in on the CD)

    2. “Pure” by the Lightning Seeds. A girl put this on a mix tape for me back in the day. Such a happy, peppy tune. I don’t know why I haven’t heard it in a while.

  2. One of the tricks to completing this challenge is to try and think of songs that are not on your iPod*. For me, it’s usually songs that I once had on cassette,** but for whatever reason never bought on CD or mp3. Chances are, if you burned it or loaded it onto your iPod, it’s going to be something you’ve heard at least once in the last three years.

    *I’ve never actually owned an iPod. I can’t stand iTunes.
    **I’m old.

  3. I submit that the premise is false. You can’t ‘love’ a song and not have heard it in the past three years.

  4. If I do this, it’s going to be a bunch of songs I loved back in the day, but for some reason never bought on mp3 or on Rock Band. That might be a fairly small list, but let’s see what i can come up with…

  5. Just because it is on my ipod doesn’t mean I’ve heard a song in the last three years. After you get a couple of thousand songs on there it is easy to never hear some of them.

    Here are a couple I never hear anymore but I like:

  6. Hmm. A thousand 80s songs occur to me, but I’ll try for some variety. And likewise looking at stuff I’ve never gotten digitally. Or haven’t seen on YouTube.

    Right Here Right Now, Jesus Jones. I was recently in Berlin and the song occurred to me there, and I thought I haven’t heard that in ages. A specific moment in time captured in that song.

    King of the Road, Roger Miller. Loved that song as a kid, and it was a signature of the band I played in as a teenager. I can still sing the whole thing now that I try.

    Rip It Up, Little Richard. This was on a K-tel record we had around the house, and I really liked it. Again, it was something we covered. I still listen to a lot of early rock and roll, but I’ve not invested in Little Richard.

    Sweet and Dandy, Toots and the Maytals. The Harder They Come soundtrack was always on when I was a student, but I’ve never gotten a digital copy. This was my favorite non- Jimmy Cliff (who I listen to quite often) song on the album.

    Tusk, Fleetwood Mac. I just today read an interview with Buckingham saying that he plays some Mac tunes when he tours, including Tusk, which I really liked (remember that video?) but haven’t heard in decades. I’ll be going to YouTube after I post here …

  7. Nice choices, Norbert! “Tusk” is a particularly great song to listen to with a set of old-timey giant headphones.

    MCQ, I really like that Guadalcanal Diary song, which I hadn’t thought of in years. This was my favorite song of theirs:

    That band reminds me of The Connells, who almost made my list. Michael Connell is currently working as a worker’s compensation attorney in Raleigh, North Carolina (after clerking for the NC Supreme Court, IIRC).

  8. Oooh, Arc of a Diver song – nice include, MCQ. And that’s a Bryan Ferry song I’ve never heard before (I get Don’t Pay the Ferryman on my shuffle fairly often)

    I was going to post that there’s a song I love that I haven’t heard in maybe ten years because my last cassette copy bit the dust, but I just did a search and it’s available on itunes! Woohoo!
    (I doubt anyone here would really appreciate it, but you can hear a sample of it on this site:
    http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/soren4
    Track – every magician’s dream

    Jon is so happy! (Snoopy dance)

  9. Love love love the Connells! I can’t believe Mike’s a lawyer, that’s so wrong,

    I also love that Jesus Jones song. I can still hear the lead singer saying in an interview, when asked about the origin of their name: “It’s the fusion of the common with the uncommon.”

  10. About 3 weeks ago, I would have wanted to put Rise on such a list. But I could not have, because I never bothered to find out who sang it when it was popular. Then, I went and looked for it, using the lyric “May the road rise to you.” Only one song had that exact lyric. Now I know who sings it (I never would have guessed Johnny Rotten), and have played it on YouTube, so it is ineligible. Actually, I’m not even sure I will download it. It has its moments, both good and bad and I have little tolerance for the bad.

    My choices are ones I cannot find to download legally and have largely given up looking–hence the three year lag. Listening to a few of them on Youtube just now doesn’t count. (Hope these embeds work.)

    Discipline – King Crimson

    Waitress – Jane Siberry

    Diving to be Deeper – Sinead Lohan

    We’re All Light – XTC

    My Love is Real – Terry Radigan (not even on YouTube)

  11. I have a terrible memory, and my sense of time is really screwy, so with that in mind, here’s my list:

  12. King Crimson. Awesome. Probably the most underrated but influential (and brilliant) band out there. Although I do prefer their first album.

  13. I “Listened to Whisper to a Scream” and recognized it as another one of those 80s songs that I never bothered to learn the name of. But I liked it enough to check out some other Icicle Works songs. Found “Understanding Jane,” which I had never heard before, but is instantly one of my favorites.

  14. The sad part is, I have to leave out *every* *single* Beatle song, some of which I hadn’t heard in years, because of my purchase within the last three years of the remastered box set (which lead to an all-weekend, all-Beatles listening event).

    So I’m left with songs from my childhood and teens that I either never could find digitally, or for whatever reason never got around to looking for them:

    1) Jefferson Airplane, “White Rabbit”

    2) Pure Prarie League, “Aime”

    3) Godley and Creme, “An Englishman in New York” (surprised that no G&C content is available on iTunes…)

    4) Alice Cooper, “I Never Cry” (I have a lot of Alice on my iPod, but this is one I never got in digital form)

    5) Chase “Open Up Wide” (Chase’s first album is one I pull out of the shelf and play a couple of times a decade. Since it’s been a few years, I guess it’s time for another listen…)

Comments are closed.