Halloween Pop

by S.P. Bailey

I like Halloween. I like costumes. I like fun size candy bars. I like scary stories—you better believe I will be busting out the Poe come Saturday. I also like the pop music. These are my top three:

1. No One Lives Forever, Oingo Boingo

Trippy No One Lives Forever cartoon mash up

2. Bela Lugosi Is Dead, Bauhaus

Bauhaus live in 1982

3. Halloween Head, Ryan Adams

Chilled out live version of Halloween Head

Honorable mention: Country Death Song (Violent Femmes), People Are Strange (Doors; spookier cover: Echo and the Bunnymen), Camouflage (Stan Ridgeway), Werewolves of London (Warren Zevon), Don’t Fear the Reaper (Blue Oyster Cult), Psycho Killer (Talking Heads), Bad Moon Rising (CCR; spookier cover: Rasputina), Pet Cemetery (Ramones).

6 thoughts on “Halloween Pop

  1. You are both wrong. The #1 Halloween song is and always will be Ministry’s “Everyday is Halloween.”

  2. Bollock Brothers – Horror Movies is a good one:

    If you want just scary-sounding, Graves at Sea:

    Nick Cave can be pretty creepy:

    So can this Peggy Lee song:

    I also think some old jazz vocals can be rather creepy:

    Sarah Vaughan

  3. “Dead Babies/Killer” by Alice Cooper (I always listened to them as one song)

    “Hammer Horror” by Kate Bush

    “The Cockroach That Ate Cincinnati” by Rose and the Arrangement

    “Diamond Dogs” by David Bowie (especially the spoken-word opening that they always cut out of the compilation albums)

    “Tubular Bells (Main Theme)” by Mike Oldfield (and only because nearly everyone who hears it associates it with “The Exorcist”

Comments are closed.