The Joyful Podcast

Join me on my daily commute as I discuss the two genres that bring me the most joy: bluegrass and doom metal!

Note: I still sound like an idiot.

Songs featured:

Alison Krauss & Union Station – “In Your Eyes:
Alison Krauss & Union Station – “Take Me For Longing:
Alison Krauss & Union Station – “We Hide and Seek”
Alison Krauss & Union Station – “Goodbye is All We Have:
Yob – “Quantum Mystic”
Electric Wizard – “Funeralopolis”
Graves at Sea – “Cirrhosis”

Download it here.

If you want to subscribe to the podcast in iTunes, you can access it here:

http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewPodcast?id=218700237

Upcoming podcasts that are in the works (or at least, I’ve thought about them a bit):

  • The “Live” Podcast
  • The Compare and Contrast Podcast, 80’s style
  • The Climactic Podcast
  • The Compare and Contrast Podcast: Songs in Embryo
  • The Acoustic Podcast
7 thoughts on “The Joyful Podcast

  1. You left out Jackson Browne. Yesterday “Doctor My Eyes” came up on the iPod and it reminded me of you. Somewhere in the back of my mind I thought “she manages to be a fan of Jackson Browne and doom metal.” Which, of course, is very cool.

  2. Susan, explain to me the distinctions between thrash metal (my favorite genre – Anthrax, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Slayer, Testament, Judas Priest, etc.) and doom metal. I’m intrigued.

  3. I’m glad you asked because now I have a reason to post a link to my favorite doom metal blog (which has been quiet lately, the author is pretty busy I think), and a post that defines doom metal:

    What is doom metal?

    More than you ever wanted to know, I’m sure.

    My husband is a huge thrash metal fan and he’s not into doom much, mainly because of how slow it is and how long the songs are. One of my favorite bands, Yob (featured in the podcast), when we’d see them live would say, “We’re going to play for 55 minutes. And we’ll play 3 songs.” My husband would be groaning and I’d be jumping for joy. My husband timed them, too, and they actually played for 60 minutes that time.

  4. Susan, I was listening to your Ominus podcast the other day when I looked down and discovered blood all over the desk. It turned out that while mowing the lawn earlier in the day I must have been caught by a blackberry thorn (the Himalayan variety, which you know takes over everyone’s property here in the Pacific Northwest). I had to chuckle at the synchronicity.

Comments are closed.