Great Moments in Crass Humor

A lot of people say that you shouldn’t have guilty pleasures, you should just like what you like and be proud of it. Fine. If you like Jessica Simpson, say it loud and proud. But who can be proud of their inability to not laugh at farts? If we should feel guilty about liking anything, it’s farts. Well, here’s my shameful confession: the times that I’ve laughed the hardest in movies were at crass humor. I appreciate and admire clever cerebral humor more than crass humor, but I laugh harder at the crass stuff, despite the fact that it makes me feel like an idiot.

I have kind of come to peace with this, though. I just tell myself that I don’t have a choice. It’s like tickle torture: you know there’s no good reason to laugh, and you wish you weren’t laughing, but you can’t stop yourself.

I don’t know what makes some crass humor funny and some just crass, but I think the majority of it isn’t very funny. I’ve never found crotch shots in movies to be very funny (crotch shots in real life are a different story) and I don’t think I’ve ever laughed at any gag involving boogers. But I have been brought to tears by stuff that’s just as base.

Here five crass movie moments that had me rolling the first time I saw them:

1) Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me: In silhouette Heather Graham pulls everything but the kitchen sink out of Austin Powers’s butt.

2) The Nutty Professor: Sherman Klump (Eddie Murphy) brings a girl home for dinner and the family breaks into a veritable chorus of farts. Grandma (Eddie Murhpy), holding a knife: “I will toss this between the crack a’ yo’ ass.”

3) Austin Powers: International Man of Mystery: Austin Powers struggles with a would-be assasin in the bathroom stall next to Tom Arnold: “Who does Number Two work for?”. Arnold cheers him on: “You show that turd who’s boss!”

4) Scooby Doo: Scooby and Shaggy have a farting contest.

5) Blazing Saddles: Cowboys eat beans and fart around the fire.

20 thoughts on “Great Moments in Crass Humor

  1. Nothing is funnier than the vomit scene in Team America: World Police. That whole movie is hilariously crass but the vomit scene rules them all.

  2. Oh my gosh, that puke scene. Even out of context, it’s pretty funny. It wouldn’t be half as funny without the lush “emotional scene” string accompaniment.

  3. So, Susan and Allison, you’re saying that there’s no reason to be ashamed at losing control over fart jokes?

    I think I can’t fully embrace potty humor because it offends the snob in me. My soul is a battle ground between the side of me that’s a connoisseur of highbrow art films and the side of me that’s a snickering seventh grader. There’s something about the efflux of intestinal gasses that empowers my inner seventh grader, to the dismay of the snob.

  4. Jennifer, the Farrelly brothers have a rich history of crass humor, especially of the gross-out variety. The hair gel scene is a classic gross-out, and it’s funny, but, like the rest of the movie (and the rest of the Farrelly brothers’ work), it didn’t really get me laughing.

    It’s so rare that I really lose control that I think it may just be a random state-of-mind thing. I don’t think there’s anything about Scooby and Shaggy having an impromtu farting contest that’s inherently funnier than the sight of Mary’s hair standing straight up. But the latter got a chuckle and an “ewww,” while the former induced a conniption.

    My most recent almost losing it moment was last week when I was watching Arrested Development on DVD and GOB, for a reason I somehow missed, started whistling when he pronounced ‘s’. There were dozens of jokes that were more clever than that one, but the whistling incited the strongest response.

  5. Re Farrelly brothers, I think the funniest scene they ever did was the toilet scene in Dumb and Dumber. I think that was the hardest I’ve laughed out loud in the theater (I was in high school).

  6. I don’t think I’ve ever laughed at a movie more than I did in Dumb and Dumber. Except for possibly Ace Ventura.

    That shows you how “high brow” my tastes are. šŸ™‚

    My husband and kids routinely change song lyrics by substituting the word “poo” for anything they can. (Recent example, my son changed Queen’s “I want to ride my bicycle” to “I want to eat my poo-sicle.”)

    The last family laugh attack we had involved a popular dance contest tv show, my husband saying, “So you think you can fart?” and my youngest son dancing all over the living room, making loud fart noises. The rest of us became the judges: “Good technique!” “Sorry, but that didn’t really *move* me.”

  7. Oh, that reminds me of the scene where Ace exits through the rear of the fake rhino. That one made me lose control.

  8. Tim Allen asked why 100% of men and 0% of women think body noises are funny. Susan and Allison are proving him wrong.

    I also thought the Lightning Lax part of Dumb and Dumber was a stroke of inspired genius worthy of Shakespeare.

  9. In Dumb & Dumber I loved the snot trails they had as they were riding their moped through the Rockies. And then when they finally got off they were frozen together after Lloyd relieves himself during the ride. “Just go, Man.”

  10. All my favorite crass humor is in Top Secret. Fake dog-doo, the cow, the ballet . . . too many to recall.

  11. Tom, even snobs fart sometimes. C’mon.

    I’d like to say that my appreciation for potty humor is some sort of mechanism that allows me to change billions of disgusting leaky diapers continuously for nine long years, but it’d be a lie. Farting is funny. Poop is funny, as long as you aren’t the one cleaning it up. Vomit is hilarious. My six year old girl and I watched the puking scene SG graciously linked and laughed so hard we cried.

    Tim Allen is an idiot.

  12. I didn’t think the hair gel scene was that funny, but I’ve never laughed harder at anything than at the end of There’s Something About Mary, when everybody’s singing “Build Me Up Buttercup.” Plenty of hilarious grossness there.

Comments are closed.