LOST: Recent Episodes (Part 1 of a 4 part series)

Let’s talk about Lost. It’s on tonight. Is that guy they’ve been torturing in the hatch an other, or not? I think he is. Just look at him. Shifty-eyed bugger. I think LOST is the best show on TV right now and I don’t understand why we don’t talk about it much here, so I’m going to write a four part series on it.

I want to share my thoughts on some recent episodes to get the discussion rolling and then we can all watch tonight and discuss it tomorrow.

Okay, first, remember two episodes ago (I think) when Sayid tortured Henry. (Imagine I’m Chris Farley. Not too hard really). That was awesome. No, actually, that was a bit disturbing. Am I the only one who saw a distinct right-wing message in that episode? When Sayid is on the beach with Charlie and he looks him (and us watching at home) in the eye and says, “I haven’t forgotten, Charlie, have you?” Don’t you think he was clearly talking about 9/11? What with Abu Ghraib and everything that episode was loaded with political context. Anyone with me? Discuss.

The other thing to talk about is last week’s episode. Can you think of a show that has more realistic and complex portrayals of marriage? Bernard and Rose were even arguing, and they thought each other were dead not too long ago.

And what are we to make of Sun and Jin? Jin is so controlling that he’s borderline abusive sometimes and Sun is having a near-affair with some other guy in order to learn English. I’m still not buying that the baby’s even his to be quite honest, but let me just say that I think it’s pretty cool to see a complex marriage relationship on the island. I don’t think I see anything quite like it out there on the TV landscape.

Okay, so that’s just to whet your appetite. Up next in the series is LOST: Theories. So get prepared. I got it all worked out. Hah. Not!

52 thoughts on “LOST: Recent Episodes (Part 1 of a 4 part series)

  1. If the dude isn’t an other, why would he have talked about the ambush/prisoner exchange thing? If he was innocent, he would want to allay suspicions and he would have kept his mouth shut.

    Which brings me to one of my biggest beefs with the show–people often don’t behave like people. In the service of suspense and plotting, characters act like morons. Nobody asks the obvious questions. They just let conversations end without understanding what people are talking about.

    My other big beef is how incredibly slowly developments unfold. I find myself wishing people would stop watching so that the writers would be forced to wrap things up in the next season. If people keep watching, they’ll keep dragging it out.

    I told my wife last week that if the show is lying to me and Sun really did sleep with the English teacher, I won’t forgive it. I might forgive it if she slept with some other man, but not the English teacher. I refuse to be so blatantly misused and manipulated.

    If you didn’t see the preview for this week’s episode, you might not want to read on (SPOILER ALERT). I can’t comprehend why they showed a shot of a hot air balloon stuck in the tree in last week’s preview of this week’s episode. One of the big suspense points is whether or not the freakin’ balloon exists. That question shouldn’t be answered in the preview. Dang network goobers. I’m pretty sure it’s a misdirection to make us believe the hatch guy isn’t an Other. Maybe he’s really not an Other and the Others have his wife and they said they’d let her go if he helped them capture some of the good guys.

  2. I’ve never been able to get into this show. I know I’m missing out, and I just don’t care for some reason. When it started, it was on during a time slot when I had to pick my kids up from church activities. And I could only catch the last ten minutes of it.

    I figure someday I’ll get it on dvd.

  3. “…people often don’t behave like people.”

    And that’s why I can’t watch this show. Or Prison Break. Or 24.

    Speaking a bit off topic, but in this recap and in 24’s history, there seems to be implicit justification for torture, that it’s okay. I find this particularly disturbing in 24 since Jack Bauer is supposed to be Da Man. Does this bother anyone else?

  4. Uh, Pris there is no implicit justification for torture in my post. In fact, if you read close you’ll see I say I’m disturbed by it. I’m also disturbed by the torture in 24, and actually wrote a post critical of that show here on Kulturblog. It definitely has a right-wing slant and an ends-justify-the-means mentality.

    That particular episode of LOST reflected on the war of terror in the same way that 24 frequently does.

  5. Tom,

    Your comments make me laugh because although you complain I can tell you watch the show and like it. You’ll be watching tonight, I bet, and so will 20+ million other people, and why? Because they showed the balloon in the promos.

    The network goobers are not stupid. However, I agree that they slow down the story by putting way too many reruns between original episodes. If you watch LOST on DVD, which is how I took in the first season it actually moves at a brisk pace over 24 episodes. Compare that to the crawl that SOPRANOS usually takes over 13.

    My argument is it seems to move slow because a lot of the fans desperately want to see the next episode. The writers are amazing.

    Keep in mind that each episode is approximately a day on the island in the world of LOST (something which really makes the show interesting and that I might discuss later). From that perspective, their first 40 or so days on the island have been quite eventful.

  6. I think Henry IS an other, balloon or no balloon, and I think it’s NOT Jin’s baby – but I could be wrong!

  7. I’m not convinced that Sayid was talking about political events. I thought he was refering to the fact that Charlie was strung up and left for dead by Ethan. Sayid felt that Charlie was forgetting just how dangerous the others are. Sayid blames the others for Shannon’s death and is becoming more and more reckless for revenge. He needs to find continual justification for how psycho he’s becoming. I think he wanted more support from Charlie.

    I don’t know what to make of the Balloonist. He said a few stupid things. Like setting out the ambush scenario for Locke and Jack. But at the same time if you’re going to balloon around the world, you probably aren’t socially adroit.

    I don’t think that showing the balloon in the teaser gives too much away. If he were an other, I would expect that he would know the island well enough to know where an old balloon was and use it as a cover story. I’m excited for either way the story turns out.

  8. I agree gibbyg, Sayid wasn’t literally talking about 9/11, but the suggestion is there, the implication on the part of the writers is there.

    TV writers don’t get out much, but they don’t live in a vacuum, and they can’t resist commenting on the world events that surround them. It’s one way they can feel like the silly shows they work on are more relevant.

  9. I’m with gibbyg. I think Henry Gale (the name of Dorothy’s grandfather (?) in the Wizard of OZ (think of the hot air balloon) knows of a balloon that perhaps crashed months or years before and simply fabricated a story for cover.

    I think it’s pretty obvious he’s an “Other” with the way he keeps turning Jack and Locke against each other.

    I absolutely love the show and, while it can be aggravating with the slow pace and number of repeats, it has the best writing and acting of any show in a long time. I haven’t been this involved in a show since the first season of 24 and the hey day of the X-Files. And let’s remember, the X-FIles sure plodded along slowly for years.

  10. Brian,
    I admit I watch it and enjoy it. But that doesn’t mean it doesn’t piss me off. It has good points: it’s a compelling mystery, a lot of the characters have been well-drawn, the acting is good, the narrative structure is novel and effective. But when characters behave like morons for the sake of the show, that is a distraction. It’s cheating. It’s calculating. It’s bad writing. For now I forgive the cheating, but if it goes past a certain point, I won’t take it.

    I actually consider Invasion superior to Lost in some respects. I give Invasion my full attention, whereas sometimes, if I’m holding a grudge, I’ll watch Lost from in front of the computer or while playing guitar. This week or whenever the truth about Sun’s pregnancy comes out, I’m perfectly prepared to swear off Lost forever if it turns out the wrong way.

  11. Gale is definitely an Other. Weasely little creep. I was disappointed last week when Ana Lucia didn’t open up a can on his mangy hide.

    Anyway, I predict a balloon will be found, and there will be a woman’s body buried near it, and everyone will stupidly take this as confirmation of Henry’s story, but it will end up being the Tailie woman who disappeared — was her name Cindy?

    I really liked last week’s episode, too. The marriages, or at least the marital conflicts, are definitely among the most realistic I’ve seen on TV. Rose and Bernard’s spat was classic. And no, I don’t believe Sun’s story. There’s stuff she isn’t telling Jin.

  12. I don’t know, Tom. I’d like to hear more examples of when you think people were morons. You’ve only shared one. I think if Henry isn’t an other it’d be believable for him to get a bit cynical and bitter and mock Locke and Jack’s paranoia–keep in mind he’s been tortured and imprisoned. If he is an other, well, then it makes even more sense because he’d be like, look, you two, I am WAY smarter than you. It was a cliffhanger ending. Who knows, maybe tonight opens with Locke and Jack beating the tar out of him. That’d be believable.

    I love your attitude, though. I’ve seen it a lot in the messages diehard fans leave on message boards. The biggest fans always threaten to stop watching. Those writers got their hooks into you good, and you feel manipulated. All art is manipulation. Film art even more so.

    I understand your feelings, believe me, it’s precisely why I finally lost interest in X-files, which added up ultimately to nothing. The Lost writers seem to have a better, more-focused sense of where they’re going.

  13. I won’t be able to give you many specific instances. But I often find myself exasperated by characters’ lack of common sense and willingness to remain in the dark. The most common transgression is not asking the obvious question or not asking a person to explain something more clearly. The French lady has a wealth of experience with the Others but nobody has really asked her, “Hey, what’s the deal with these Others.” Even when they were on a trek into the jungle with nothing else to talk about, they preferred to remain in the dark.

    There’s the time when Jin, Sawyer, and Walt’s dad encounter Lucinda and the gang and they get little hints here and there about what has happened but they don’t just ask directed questions to get to the bottom of things.

    About Henry, in either case it’s in his best interest to allay suspicion. He said what he said about the ambush with the TV audience in mind.

  14. Tom-
    Nah, I think Henry was playing his game of manipulating Locke and Jack — playing them against each other while planting false suspicions that would make them feel relieved when Ana Lucia isn’t attacked and she finds the balloon. Then they’ll let down their guard and BAM! He’ll carry out whatever nefarious plan he has in mind.

    Bryce I-
    It’s actually pretty easy to find all of BTD Greg’s Lost posts. All posts are categorized. The Lost posts can be found under the category “Television.”

  15. Brian: Sorry. I meant to say that the show, not you, seems to justify torture. In my book that isn’t cool and one of the reasons I don’t watch. I was just interested in the meta- thoughts of how one can find the message objectionable but still like the messenger.

  16. Pris,

    I don’t think Lost is trying to justify or condone torture in any way whatsoever. Think about it, did torturing Henry work? Did Sayid get any information out of him at all? No. In fact, when Sayid tried torturing Sawyer in Season 1, it failed as well. So maybe it is actually letting us know how pointless torture is. After all, Ana Lucia was able to get the desired info. by simply taliking to him–without torture.

    Having Sayid torture Henry just adds to the depth and complexity of his character. This is something the writers have mastered with this show. We like Sayid, but we’ve seen him torture three people. So what are we to think of him. What about Sawyer? He’s one of the most complex characters on TV. One episode you love him, the next you despise him. It’s great writing.

    I will agree with you about 24 though. Torture is definitely always justified. Jack always finds the truth by torture and never tortures an innocent person. It seems to tell us that torture serves a great purpose. Considering the show is on Fox should let us know what their agenda is.

  17. Let me give another example of annoying unreality in character interactions: Jack and Locke. Is it really necessary or sustainable for Jack and Locke to constantly interact, and for EVERY SINGLE INTERACTION to be marked by Jack’s horribly derisive tone toward Locke? This relationship has not changed all season, and it’s driving me nuts. Either part ways, or make some kind of detente, but I just don’t buy that they remain so joined at the hip and yet Jack treats everything Locke says with utter sneering disdain. Not realistic, not entertaining, not nothing.

    Also, I love this show.

    The other thing that bugs me is how relationships seem to form and then completely evaporate. Are Charlie and Hurley best mates are aren’t they? Is Charlie Sawyer’s evil doing accomplice, or just once? Is Charlie now following Sayid around for a while, or was that just one episode? Is Eko ministering to Claire? Does Jin still care about Michael? Does Michael still exist? Is Jack “hittin’ that?” Do Claire and Charlie have anything going on? This would be a lot more interesting if relationship arcs lasted more than an episode or two, and we could see discernible alliances forming. Will there ever be a Jack faction opposing a Locke faction? Was Jack and Ana Lucia’s ‘army,’ which was conceived in one episode and mentioned in two other episodes, meant to actually have any screen time, ever? What about Sawyer’s new, commanding control of all the guns, a coup he pulled off to great fanfare and has not been mentioned again. Too many threads that get forgotten, I’m afraid.

    Also, again, I love this show.

  18. Actually the producers say they will explain why no one asks obvious questions and why so many are at each others throats. We’ll see I guess.

    My own feeling is that everyone is dead and that they are having to re-approach their past sins over and over again to make peace with themselves. There are hints at this. When the prisoner was first caught and brought into be tortured Locke was reading a book that became famous when filmed as a Twighlight Zone episode. It was about a guy wandering around during the Civil War only to find out he was already dead. There are other hints towards this, not to mention the unreality of surviving the crash.

    I’ve doubted this theory several times but keep coming back to it.

    I think that in a way it is more akin to Dante’s Inferno, only with everyone torturing themselves.

    But we’ll see as reportedly we’ll find out why their plane was picked at the season finale.

    BTW – if you watch carefully they actually explain a lot of what’s going on.

    As to Sawyer, they’ve mentioned the guns quite a few times (including tonight).

    BTW – anyone who doesn’t listen to the Lost podcast ought to. The producers give a lot of extra information (along with interesting interviews with cast members) The last two episodes were a tad lame. But several of the earlier ones were pretty important. And they gave a few clues. Word is there is going to be a pretty significant revelation coming up. (Probably related to that map Locke saw tonight) It’ll be hidden in the Dharma Initiative website when it goes back up in a couple of weeks.

  19. Clark, you just blew my mind.

    The most obvious flaw in that theory is that dead people can’t die. Or can they? I don’t know if that constitutes a fatal (like my pun?) flaw, but it’s a problem.

  20. Ryan Bell!

    Where have you been lately? The ‘nacle needs you. Kulturblog needs you. Millenial Star really needs you.

    Don’t go away again.

    I personally hear everything you’re saying when you complain about the show and dismiss it.

    Jack is a man of science. Locke a man of faith. Don’t tell me you’ve never met someone who believes in science that is derisive of faith. I buy their relationship completely. I think it’s culminating to a peak. Again, each show is approximately a 24 hour period. The time frame changes how we react to it because it’s novel and original. The writers have to juggle a lot of characters–about two to three times as many as your typical show. So many of your questions are a result of them just having a lot of balls up in the air.

    I personally feel that Charlie has been characterized as a person who goes from one individual to the next in search of validation and leadership. He’s moved from Locke to Sawyer to Sayid as you’ve suggested. In my mind it relates back to his relationship with his older brother.

    BTW, I think he’s on the outs with Claire ever since he nearly put her baby in the ocean.

    I have every confidence that these writers are aware of each and every ball they are juggling. I never thought they’d get back to what happened to Claire when she went missing, but they did.

    As you can see I am a LOST apologist.

  21. Clark,

    Dang it! We’re not supposed to discuss theories until the next installment in my series.

    However, I do think the they’re all dead, or they’re all in purgatory scenario has been publically denied by the writers if I’m not mistaken. Plus, it’s not such an original idea, having been done in various forms since “An Occurence at Owl Creek Bridge” to SIXTH SENSE.

    You do mention the books people read on the show which I believe are sometimes significant. That’s something to discuss later.

    I feel part of the reason why I buy them not interrogating the crazy French lady is because they think she’s crazy, and honestly, she’s hard to pin down.

  22. As far as last night’s episode, either that is the worse driver’s license photo ever taken or Henry Gale is an other.

    But I’m not so sure. I think he’s not an other at all, but a third class, or someone from a different group. The map sure makes the island look big, doesn’t it.

    It’s funny, after last night’s revelation I am more inclined to think he’s not one of THEM!

  23. It’s possible that there is a whole other group of people on the island that aren’t Others, that aren’t from the plane. This would be convenient for the writers because it could add a whole new group of people to write for.

    I don’t know how likely this is but it’s possible.

    Sometimes Sawyer and Jack’s relationship drives me crazy. It’s like they would be good buddies if they just beat each other up and got it over with. And Kate’s rebelliousness doesn’t jive with me. She is just too sweet. And hot. Nobody that hot could kill anyone.

    It’s funny how we all watch the show for different reasons. One thing my wife constantly walks away frustrated about is Kate’s relationship with Jack (“why don’t they just hook up???”) and Sawyer (“why does she like him, she’s supposed to love Jack!!”). I love the layers of intrigue and constant guessing. The show is brilliant.

  24. Sorry for my absence, Brian. The ‘nacle seems to be surviving just fine without me, which works for me. But, as you can tell from my comments on Lost, I sometimes have difficulty pulling away from things that are alternately perturbing and fascinating.

    I should have waited to post my comment until after seeing last night’s episode, which I thought was very satisfying. I think we were promised some development in the Jack and Locke impasse, suggested by how Locke reacted to Henry when Henry asked why Locke lets Jack treat him like that. Very nice. Also, Sawyer’s continued control of the guns got some play as well. Plus, this was just a plot heavy episode, which I love. I guess I’m a sucker for anything that involves Locke heavily, since I believe him to be the single greatest character ever invented for television. (I’d love to see more of his mysticism about the island coming through though, as it did in Season 1, rather than his continued devotion to the Hatch. The hatch seems harder to have faith in than the island does).

    Your take on Charlie is fantastic– I can really see that coming through from his brother issues. As for the many balls the writers are juggling, you are certainly correct that someone is keeping track of them all somewhere. It’s very gratifying to come back to a question that has been floating around for weeks without discussion.

    But as a writer, you have to admit, too, that one part of good narrative technique is weaving the issues together in a way that leads the viewer along a tightly-woven path. In other words, while the meta-show does lead us somewhere, each different narrative arc is really a story of harsh fits and starts. If the writers want us to care about a certain plotline, they should give it some airtime consistently, and develop it consistently, rather than raise an issue once, ignore it for six episodes, and then suddenly resolve it. Sadly, while I know Desmond and Michael and Walt and the black smoke monster (which used to terrorize basically every walk through the jungle– where did it go now?)will all return, there’s a significant loss in the dramatic power given that we’ve completely forgotten about them in the interim. No?

    By the way, have we ever actually seen the original Sawyer? (the con man from whom our Sawyer takes his name?) Any chance Locke’s dad is Sawyer?

    Finally, let me clarify that I have far from dismissed this show. I love it. My favorite TV show since the Dick Van Dyke show. Just frustrates me. Which I love too. Most of all, I love that you’ve given us a forum to discuss it. Props.

  25. Probably my favorite part of Lost is the overlapping characters in the flashbacks. Usually I’m pretty keen to pick them up–Kate’s dad convincing Sayid to torture the Iraqi prisoner, Jack at the Hospital where Shannon’s dad died, etc. But I missed last night’s. The single woman whose house Locke inspected was Nadia from Sayid’s past. Incredible. I don’t know what all of this means, but I love it.

    I agree with the previous comment about Locke being the greatest TV character ever invented. He is played masterfully.

  26. If any of you want to see a powerful performance from Terry O’Quinn (Locke) check out THE STEPFATHER from way back in 1987.

    It’s a riveting thriller–one of those undiscovered gems. O’Quinn plays a man with a pathological need to have the perfect family and he serially marries single mothers. When they fall short of his expectations–well, you should just see it.

  27. I think LOST is the best non-comedy television show ever. I’ve never gotten this involved and excited about a show before.

    The one flaw I see in it is that there is way too much KateandJack. Their characters are interesting when delivered in the same doses as everyone else, but I am just not interested in the supposed romantic tension between Kate/Jack/Sawyer.

    Locke, Hurley, Sayeed, Charlie, and Mr. Ecko are the best supporting cast of anything anywhere.

  28. I’ve never heard the producers actually say everyone’s not dead. They’ve joked about it. But the way they joke about it seems more an evasion than a denial. And that “An Occurence at Owl Creek Bridge” book seems significant. Of course I’ve only listened to the podcasts. So maybe they said something along these lines somewhere else.

    Whatever is going on, it isn’t something natural, given the smoke creature and its ability to read minds.

    The producers have stated several times that dreams are important and that people’s fundamental character flaws are key to the show and also why they are on the island. So if it isn’t a purgatory like situation it’s something similar. (I just pray it isn’t a VR psychological treatment – that would bug far more than everyone being dead)

  29. PS – I do agree that Jack isn’t nearly as interesting a character as the Producers think. I think Charlie is interesting, but his flashbacks have been the worst on the series. The most intriguing is of course Hurley and I look forward to next week’s explanation of his time in the asylum.

    The reason Hurley’s so interesting is that (thus far) his story is the only one that directly ties to the Island.

  30. Tim J, I missed nearly all of those overlapping appearances of characters in flashbacks. Very interesting.

  31. Ryan,

    I respect anyone who limits their blog activity. I just hope your disenchantment isn’t due to an any blog I ever participated in.

    I would agree that yes, traditionally, good narrative technique leads a viewer along a tightly woven path, however, LOST represents a break in that tradition.

    Part of its brilliance is in how it presents an extremely complex world with a multitude of mysteries, possibilities, and questions, some of which, yes, may forever remain unanswered. In this way in spite of it being a fantasy it comes closer to mirroring real life experience than any other show currently on the air. An un-real presentation gets closer to the heart of reality then what we typically consider realism.

    This is one of the ways great drama can operate. Think WAITING FOR GODOT which although about two clowns doing nothing and waiting for someone who never arrives, gets frighteningly close to what life is for most people.

    But I digress a bit.

    I believe we are uncomfortable with an innovative show like LOST at times because we’ve been trained via countless hours of TV, movies, and popular novels to have anything and everything sewn up neatly and regularly.

    TV has rapidly evolved over the last five years or so to break free from this limitation. One factor is that many more people each day are watching TV sans commercials on DVD or through Tivo, both technologies which allow people to view episodes in rapid succession. (From what I understand it is the DVD sales that make “24” a profitable show). This change in how shows are viewed allows writers to structure story arcs through an entire series and over seasons like never before. The stand alone TV episodes we were raised on are increasingly rare, and usually are tied tightly into larger, longer storylines.

    This and other factors are producing much greater narrative complexity than in previous years. Here’s a link to a fascinating article about the trend that Steve sent me a while ago, here.

    Okay, that’s enough out of me.

    Keep reading, more LOST talk to come.

  32. No, Brian, no disenchantment, especially not with any blog you’ve ever been associated with. Just needed to have my spare time back again.

    This has been a fun discussion. I look forward to future posts.

    Clark, what do you mean that the monster can read minds? It makes me want to know so badly what Locke saw when he was faced with the monster, and smiled. (Alas, one of those mysteries that may never be resolved).

  33. I believe the producers were interviewed by the editors of Entertainment Weekly and were about all of the different theories that were circulating about what happened, where are they, etc.

    When asked if the cast was dead and were in some form of purgatory they said “No” but that that was probably their favorite theory.

  34. Brian G,

    There’s usually some form of overlapping in almost every flashback now. Remeber when Hurley’s accountant told him he had invested in a Box company? I imagine it’s the same box company that Locke worked for. Just a guess. Again, I’m not exactly sure what all of this means, but it certainly keeps my full attention during the flashbacks.

    Clark,

    I’m not sure why you prefer the theory that they’re dead over the psychological experiment or any others. It seems as though it would be too easy a resolution, much like if Jack woke up one day and it was all a dream. I’m hoping and believing something more complex is going on here.

  35. I’m with Tim, being dead would be too easy, too cliche for me to invest all this time. I want the complexities that I see every week actually be complex.

  36. Thanks for the link, Brian. I couldn’t see any detail when I paused the Tivo (at least on my TV; on Supergenius’s you can probably read the whole thing).

  37. Every time there is a Locke-centric episode, I watch in terror, waiting for the accident that paralyzes him.

    There have been like four Locke episodes and we STILL don’t know what happened to Locke’s legs. Did I mention that I love this show?

  38. Lots of references on the map to “Cereberus” = Cerberus the three headed dog that guarded the gate to Hades and ensured that the dead could not leave and the living could not enter?

  39. I gave up on Lost–season two was just too full of stupid tricks and I began to feel like this is the sort of series that strings you along for five or six seasons and then breaks your heart by not telling you anything. I’m so much happier now that it’s out of my life.

  40. Good point, Ronan. It seems likely that Cereberus is the dark smoke thingy in the jungle, especially since the black-light drawing refers to Cereberus “malfunctioning.”

  41. I know the producers have denied the Purgatory theory. but still. I wonder if they’re not simply obfuscating. And I agree that it would be lame if they’re all just dead.

    Ryan, I’d totally forgotten about Michael. He always kind o bugged me. I’d also forgotten about Walt.

    People, listen well: there is more than one group of Others.

  42. First, Ryan, now Davis. I should have written this series long ago. It’s a good way to drag some of my favorite bloggers out of the woodwork.

    I expect Jonathan Max Wilson to comment next.

    C’mon, JMW, you know you want to.

  43. Mathew, I too am a bitter ex-X-phile. I feel your pain. I think LOST will be different.

    If not, well, there will be some great episodes.

    I actually still love X-Files–everything up until that dang movie was cool.

  44. Davis- I think you’re wrong about both purgatory and there being more than one group of Others. The purgatory theory has been shot down time after time. The creative team has been very clear that: 1) the Losties are not dead; and 2) when you die on Lost island, you stay dead.

    Lots of people speculated about there being more than one group of Others in the past. The “Maternity Leave” episode put that speculation to rest for me. We saw that the Others had costumes and theatrical makeup to change their appearance, and that Ethan was working with the Other that Sawyer called “Zeke.” I think the likelihood that there are more that one group of Others is pretty slim.

  45. I’ll be the first to admit that I haven’t given a ton of thought to my half-baked theories, and I also haven’t consulted the variety of outside sources (podcast, etc) so I’ll take your word for it.

Comments are closed.