Fessin’ Up Time

Karen H.

With all this talk of movie quotes, I’ve been thinking about another kind of movie quote…those lines and moments that make you cry.  Now we could talk about respectable movies to cry in.  I still can’t make it through Steel Magnolias, but I’m not ashamed.  That is one sad movie.  But I’m not choosing to talk about respectable movies.  What movies make you cry and you’re so embarrassed that you hide your head in shame?  Here’s my confession.  I cry everytime I watch Independence Day.  When stupid Bill Pullman gets up on that stupid plane and gives his "Freedom from annihilation, this is our day of independence" speech….I cry.  I can’t help it.  I try to pinch myself.  I try to think of happy puppies and funny jokes, but no, the tears just start rolling. 

Okay folks…now’s your chance to fess up.  Do me proud.

32 thoughts on “Fessin’ Up Time

  1. Karen,
    Is your confession that you cry in Independence Day or is it that you’ve seen it so many times that you say, “Every time I watch Independence Day…”?

    “O’ Captain my captain” gets me every time.

    The first time I remember crying in a movie was when Goose died in Top Gun. I loved that guy.

    Then of course The Passion jerked a few tears. Let’s not lie, I was crying through the whole thing.

    There are others, I can’t think of them right now though.

  2. I didn’t quite cry but refused to ever see Ransom with Mel Gibson because the bit in the previews where he’s all wild-eyed and floaty-haired and shouting into the phone, “YOU GIVE ME BACK MY SON!” horrified me and I didn’t think I’d make it through the movie. That’s kind of embarrassing.

    Most men cry at the line, “Hey Dad — wanna have a catch?” and are embarrassed about it.

  3. ST II: Wrath of Khan: “Of all the souls I have encountered in my travels, his was the most… human.” *sniff*

  4. I cried like a baby the first time I saw, “The Mission”. I believe that I cried for about an hour afterwards. Then I listened to Legiao Urbana Dois which includes the incredibly topical song “Indios” and I cried for another few hours. My wife-to be was there (she was dating someone else at the time) and thought I was insane. I would probably cry again.

    I cried when I saw “A River Runs Through It”.

    My wife was very confused when I watched “Field of Dreams” a few weeks ago and had tears in my eyes most of the second half of the movie. I was not ashamed.

    There are probably others, but those are the ones that come to mind. Oh wait, “The Mailbox”!

  5. I’m not much of a crier in movies. But there’s a Chinese movie (with English subtitles) that really pulls the tears out of me. It’s the movie Not One Less. The point that gets tears flowing for me is when this 13-year-old girl finally (after many unbelievable struggles and hardships) lands on national television, where she struggles to express her deep need to find her missing student (a little boy who is homeless in the large city). The movie is a bit slow-going and that part of the movie is near the end … but I feel this movie has an unusual message about doggedness in pursuing one’s stewardship or fulfilling a calling. This little girl simply refuses to stop looking for this lost little boy.

  6. Old Yeller: A really terrible movie but it made me cry, a lot. And then Batman Begins. For some reason Michael Cane emoting always makes me cry–I didn’t quite cry but I got embarrassingly close. And of course the want a catch line in Field of Dreams. Every single time.

  7. Yes, want a catch is a death-blow. Kevin Costner really loves that kind of line. Remember in Dances With Wolves, at the end when he leaves the tribe, and his friend is at the top of the ridge yelling, “Dances With Wolves! I am Wind In His Hair! Do you see that I am your friend? Can you see that you will always be my friend?”

    *sniff*

  8. This thread was made for me. I am a total chump-sucker when it comes to crying in movies. I am what you call a softy.

    I am probably the only living person that ever got choked up during the Chris Farley classic “Beverly Hills Ninja.” How’s that for a confession? I can’t really explain it. The story is about how Chris Farley is a big, fat, White bumbling ninja that sucks at everything, but is loved unconditionally and constantly protected by his brother a lean, mean, Asian ninja with mad martial arts skills. I don’t know, I started thinking about my older brothers and how much I love and miss them, then suddenly, waterworks. It’s pretty pathetic, and very unmanly, I know.

    I feel better coming clean about it.

    Here is a list of other movies that have jerked tears out of me. It is by no means inclusive:

    E.T., ONE FLEW OVER THE CUCKOO’S NEST, BICYCLE THIEF, SEARCHING FOR BOBBY FISCHER, FIELD OF DREAMS, OF MICE AND MEN, ROCKY, SIDEWAYS, and RUDY.

    I also got severely choked up when Samwise Gamgee dives in the water going after Frodo at the end of FELLOWSHIP OF THE RING and later in RETURN OF THE KING when Aragorn says, “For Frodo,” as he faces certain death.

    So although I’m a crybaby I like to think I primarily cry at very manly moments. As Jack Handy says, “It takes a big man to cry and an even bigger man to make fun of that man.”

  9. RETURN OF THE KING, where Aragorn tells the Hobbits “You bow to no one.” My wife makes fun of me, but that gets me every time I see it.

    CASABLANCA: the “hill of beans” speech as Bogey puts her on the plane.

  10. FREQUENCY when Dennis Quaid arrives with the line “Right behind you, son.” Most touching shotgun killing scene ever.

  11. The English Patient.

    Not to judge anyone’s movie choices, but what’s so sad about Sideways? Miles is a pathetic loser, but it has a happy ending! There was another part in the movie where I almost lost my lunch, but crying, no.

    I loved Sideways. Great movie.

  12. Didn’t any of you ever see Shenandoah? It’s just one great big bawl-fest, from Jimmy Stewart’s “grace” at the beginning to the Boy walking up the aisle of the church at the end.

    And, don’t forget It’s a Wonderful Life. Even when the bank examiners join in singing Hark the Herald Angels Sing, the tears just keep coming.

    And, finally, after seeing Sleepless in Seattle, who can watch the end of The Dirty Dozen without at least choking up?

  13. Tess, there’s a little pathetic loser in all of us, that’s what makes SIDEWAYS moving.

  14. LOL, Brian G – That’s what the NY Times said! The article said all the movie critics loved Sideways so much because they saw themselves in the Miles character. I loved the story (although the Jack character was way too raunchy). The scene where Maya describes to Miles why she loves wine is breathtaking.

  15. But yeah, I tend to tear up a lot. Just a few that I can think of off the top of my head —

    Schindler’s list. (duh).
    Bend it like Beckham — when the dad says “go play football.”
    Unfaithful — the car at the end, and the “what if?” montage
    “I’m Spartacus.”
    Wings of the Dove. Talk about a sad flick.
    For the matter, The Spitfire Grill too. Yes, Allison Elliott makes me cry.
    Pay it Forward, the Sarah McLaughlin song at the end. And I swore I wouldn’t let such an obviously intentional manipulation work!
    Sommersby. How can you not tear up at that ending?
    The list goes on . . .

  16. Brian G?

    A little pathetic loser? I don’t know about you, but my inner pathetic lose is gigantic. Bigger that I am, in fact.

    You know what really chokes me up though? Going to Papa Gino’s at the Arsenal Mall (next to Target) and seeing kids having a birthday party there. I have to run out. Oh, the humanity!

    I’m serious by the way.

  17. I’ve never cried at a movie in my life. Ever. Real men don’t cry, you sissies. You’re all a bunch of girlie-men.

    Aaron B

  18. The only movie I can ever remember crying from (yes, I am dead inside) was a mini-series called “Go Towards the Light” about a pediatric AIDS patient. In my defense, I was about 12 at the time. I remember tearing up a couple times since, but I’ve always kept it together.

  19. True, Aaron Brown has never cried in a movie, but he’s crazy about showtunes, often gets manicures, and uses a moisturizer that opens his pores.

    I’m just saying…

  20. My mother is the all-time easiest cryer. The most egregious example was once when we turned on the TV and the last scene of Harry and Hendersons was on. She hadn’t seen any of the movie, but just the parting scene between the overgrown muppet and the Hendersons had her crying like a baby.

  21. Hmm. I like to cry, but a movie really has to earn it.

    The Bicycle Thief
    The Best Years of Our Lives
    Joan of Arc (both the Passion of Joan of Arc by Dreyer and the later film with Ingrid Bergman)
    E.T.
    Schindler’s List
    Our Town (1989 TV version)
    It’s a Wonderful Life (if you don’t cry, you’re psychotic)

    Recently, I have seen the stage musical of The Light in the Piazza, and cried both times — it’s wonderfully moving.

    Yes,

    Old Yeller

    Movies that don’t make me cry AT ALL include Titanic, Fellowship of the Ring, and many others that purported to be good movies.

  22. I cried this morning when I saw a Citibank commercial. Does that count as being a sissy-man? I think it does.

    It’s the commercial where a father is at his daughters wedding and keeps seeing her as her 4 year old self.

    I also cried after Star Wars I and II because they were sooo bad.

  23. Aaron Brown doesn’t cry in movies because he’s still suffering from mission-induced PTSD. Probably something to do with watching a companion chase down and kill a wild animal …

  24. Man, who knew Old Yeller would get two mentions already?

    What was that tear jerker with little Ricky Schroeder? THE CHAMP? Yeah, that did the job…

  25. Ryan S.,

    Maybe you’re pregnant. My wife has been known to cry at random commercials (babies in tires?) while pregnant.

  26. I cry all the time during movies and tv shows. I love a good (or should I say, bad) tear jerker. One of my faves is a Mandy Moore movie called A Walk to Remember. Really, if anyone dies I’m gonna start bawling, and that one is brutal on me because something that happens near the end is the same thing that my brother did before he died.

    I hate it though when you rent a movie expecting something light and fun and it turns out to be really sad. Like My Girl. That movie ticked me off.

  27. I cry at the end of the Muppet Movie. But maybe that one doesn’t count though because (imo) it’s actually somewhat “respectable”.

    As a matter of fact, I tear up at the begining too, when Kermit is singing “Rainbow Connection”. I guess it’s because I know how the movie ends.

  28. At the end of Empire of the Sun – “Hey kid, you want a Hershey bar?” ONLY time John Malkovich has made me cry.

    Out of Africa – “He was not mine”. I can barely watch that movie without sobbing almost all the way through it. Most people find it a lame movie.

    My husband says in Twin Towers when Sam gives his speech about hope.

Comments are closed.